Your professor may require you to put all citations in footnotes. However, when using sources subsequently, you can often put shortened citations when using citations from the same source without interruption. These shortened notes can be done using author-only notes or author-title notes.
An author-only note includes the author's last name and page number separated by a comma and ended with a period. If there is no author, use the editor's name (if available) in place of the author.
An author-title note adds a shortened title composed of up to four words from the full title. A comma is used to separate the author and the shortened title and the title is to be in italics or quotations as you would in the full citation.
Author-only
(n) Alexander Rose, Washington's Spies: The Story of America's First Spy Ring. (New York: Bantam Dell, 2007), 93-95.
Rose, 150-52.
Author-title
(n) Theodore Roosevelt, The Rough Riders: An Autobiography, ed. Louis Auchincloss (New York: The Library of America, 2004). 258-260.
Roosevelt, Rough Riders, 147-48.
The following are examples of how to cite various resources in notes-bibliography style. The footnotes are indicated by "n" beside each footnote while bibliography citations are indicated by a "b". Each citation requires the same information, but that information is placed differently in the footnotes and bibliography. Note that page numbers are required for footnotes whereas they are not for bibliography citations. Punctuation is also different between footnotes and bibliography. Be sure to pay attention to the placement of elements and punctuation between footnotes and bibliography.
In footnotes, give the author's name as it appears on the title page, usually first name first (this is standard order). If a name includes more than one initial, use spaces between them.
In the bibliography, the author's last name comes before the first name (this is inverted order).
(n) Alexander Rose, Washington's Spies: The Story of America's First Spy Ring. (New York: Bantam Dell, 2007), 93-95.
(b) Rose, Alexander. Washington's Spies: The Story of America's First Spy Ring. New York: Bantam Dell, 2007.
In creating footnotes for sources with multiple authors, list Author 1's first and last name along with Author 2's first and last name. Continue this pattern with up to three authors.
A source with two or three authors should be listed in the bibliography as the first author's last name, first name (inverted order). Then add the second author's first and last name (standard order). If there are three author's, add the third author's name the same as the second author.
(n) James M. McPherson and James K. Hogue, Ordeal by Fire: The Civil War and Reconstruction, 4th ed. (New York: McGraw-Hill, 2009), 440-445.
(b) McPherson, James M. and James K. Hogue. Ordeal by Fire: The Civil War and Reconstruction. 4th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2009.
If a work has four or more authors, give the first author's name in standard order (first name, last name) in the citation. Then add et al after the first author's name.
Keep the citation in the bibliography the same as with one author. However, put "et al" after the first author's name in inverted order.
(n) Robert B. Bruce et al., Fighting Techniques of the Napoleon Age: Equipment, Combat Skills, and Tactics 1792-1815 (New York: St. Martin's Press, 2008), 158.
(b) Bruce, Robert B. et al. Fighting Techniques of the Napoleon Age: Equipment, Combat Skills, and Tactics 1792-1815. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2008.
If a book has an author plus an editor, give the author's name, the title of the book, and the editor's first and last name preceded by ed in the footnote. If the book only has editors and no authors, use the editor's name in the author's slot. Treat the editors as the author.
In the bibliography, put the editor's name after the title and preceded by "edited by".
(n) Theodore Roosevelt, The Rough Riders: An Autobiography, ed. Louis Auchincloss (New York: The Library of America, 2004). 258-260.
(b) Roosevelt, Theodore. The Rough Riders: An Autobiography. Edited by Louis Auchincloss. New York: The Library of America, 2004.
When using a book that has been published in multiple editions, always cite the edition that you are using in the footnote. If a book has an edition number, place the edition number after the title of the book. Precede the number with ed. First editions will not have a labeled edition.
In the bibliography, cite the edition after the title.
(n) James M. McPherson and James K. Hogue, Ordeal by Fire: The Civil War and Reconstruction, 4th ed. (New York: McGraw-Hill, 2009), 440-445.
(b) McPherson, James M. and James K. Hogue. Ordeal by Fire: The Civil War and Reconstruction. 4th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2009.
Journal articles often come in print and/or online. When using a print article, the title of the journal as well as the volume/issue numbers will be required in the footnotes. The title of the article are to be put in quotation marks while the title of the journal is italicized. List the page number(s) where information is cited from.
In the bibliography, put the author's name in inverted form. The title of the article remains in quotation marks while the title of the journal is italicized. The page range of the article is to be put at the end of the citation.
(n) Etienne Lock, "History's Value to Conflict and Security Studies in Africa," The Historian 81, no 4 (Winter 2019): 659.
(b) Lock, Etienne. "History's Value to Conflict and Security Studies in Africa." The Historian 81, no. 4 (Winter 2019): 654-670.
To cite an article that is online, include a URL in the footnote. If there is a URL attached to the article (often a permalink), use that rather than the one in the address bar. If a DOI (digital object identifier) is listed, use the DOI instead of the URL. Make sure the DOI has "https://" in front of the DOI.
In the bibliography, do the same as you would a print article but include the URL/DOI at the end of the citation.
(n) Ruth Dawson, "Eighteenth-Century Libertinism in a Time of Change: Representations of Catherine the Great," Women in German Yearbook no. 18 (2002): 88, https://10.1353/wgy.2002.0014.
(b) Dawson, Ruth. "Eighteenth-Century Libertinism in a Time of Change: Representations of Catherine the Great." Women in German Yearbook no. 18 (2002) 67-88. https://10.1353/wgy.2002.0014.